Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Chinuch, Education & Schooling -> Homeschooling
Classroom teachers and homeschooling

Toot

Post Mon, Dec 07 2009, 8:29 pm
I am a teacher in a school, and I have been doing some reading on and thinking about homeschooling. I love teaching, and I have the privilege to impact so many children. I also believe that my strengths as a teacher are with middle school students, and not with very little kids or with older, high school age kids.

That being said -

Has anyone had experience, or have thoughts on, going from a classroom teacher to a homeschooling mother/teacher? Do you feel that you made/could be making more of an impact on the hundreds of children who pass through your classroom over the years, or do you feel that the impact you make on your own children is incomparable to anything you could do in a school? Do you feel that you are as good a teacher to your children when they are 3, 7, 10, and 16, or do you feel that your strengths would be better manifested if you could focus on one age group in a school?

I'm not necessarily looking for practical advice, my child is far from school age and I'm not leaving my job any time soon. But I would like to hear other people's thought and experiences.

Seraph

Post Tue, Dec 08 2009, 2:30 am
That's a toughie.
The real question is- what is more important to you? To make an impact on the world, or to help your kids turn out to be the best kids they can be?
I'll admit, for me, most important is that my kids turn out as best as they can be. Once I influence them positively, then I can turn to the rest of the world to help.
Chessed starts at home, and so should your order of priorities (in my opinion).

But I do see the appeal. To have thousands of students over the years remember you in a positive light and to be able to influence their lives is quite a feeling.
But I'd trade all that for my kids.

Mommy3.5