Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Parenting our children -> Teenagers and Older children
HS daughter has term paper overdue

TzenaRena

Post Mon, May 22 2006, 7:39 pm
Help! she doesn't know how to go about it. How to research it, how to put it together, how to construct it. The subject is supposed to be one of her choosing, in Kodesh subjects.

She has second thoughts now about her topic, which originally appealed to her, but no time to change to another one. Basically she is panicking. I know it's not my homework, but since she's asking for help, I'll be there for her.

Since I'm not a professor, or HS teacher, or a HS student anymore either,(who can remember so far back? Wink) I don't know exactly what a term paper is supposed to be either.

Any explanations, tips? How does one structure a term paper?

shopaholic

Post Mon, May 22 2006, 7:56 pm
Wow. Seems like yesterday when I did mine (I graduated 10 yrs ago.) I did "MItzvos For Women" & concentrated on CHaNa. I don't remember what else ppl did. It should be a lot easier nowadays with the internet. Hve her speak to some past graduates about what they did. Sorry, I can't be any more help.

gryp

Post Mon, May 22 2006, 8:17 pm
SaraYehudis- what is the topic?
usually you make up an outline of all the different subtopics within the topic, then do all the research- finding out anywhere and everywhere it talks about the topic-, and then write it up.

Mommy912

Post Mon, May 22 2006, 8:22 pm
There are books on how to write a term paper: what kind of paragraphs to put where, the standards of quoting and references. Look at some sample papers to get a feel for how hers should look.
How long is her paper supposed to be?
SaraYehudis you are so good in researching things for this site - she is lucky to have you to help her.

Tefila

Post Mon, May 22 2006, 8:26 pm
How about googling it. I've done that on occassion with my kids homework Twisted Evil