Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Household Management -> Finances
Halachic wills
1  2  Next

MimiMommy

Post Thu, Jun 24 2010, 9:13 pm
Do you have a halachic will? Just curious how many people do.

mha3484

Post Thu, Jun 24 2010, 9:29 pm
I am a paralegal and I have written many wills and powers of attorney that incorporate halacha.

Rodent

Post Thu, Jun 24 2010, 9:54 pm
We don't have wills of any kind which is bad, it's something we'll do when we have the money to get it done. I'd have done a will kit myself long ago if it wasn't for the halachic bit which makes it much more complicated.

Aribenj

Post Fri, Jun 25 2010, 2:41 pm
Whats the difference between an halachic will and a regular one?

MimiMommy

Post Fri, Jun 25 2010, 2:45 pm
well there are certain things that must be done in your will according to Torah law -- for example, if you have 5 daughters and a son, halachically, all your property must be left to the son. A person who does halachic wills could help you figure out how to go about this practically.
I'm just curious, because my dh specializes in halachic wills (and living wills according to halacha) and I'm wondering how much of a demand there is for them.

mha3484

Post Fri, Jun 25 2010, 2:57 pm
There is definitely a demand. I worked for a frum atty who also specialized in them and had a steady stream of clients. The other issue is powers of attorney for health care decision making. They must include a clause that all decisions should be made together with a halachic authority.

MimiMommy

Post Fri, Jun 25 2010, 3:06 pm
mha, any idea where he got the clients from? LOL dh is just starting out, and is advertising but we're not quite sure where to go from here!

momoffive

Post Fri, Jun 25 2010, 4:54 pm