Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Household Management -> Finances
COOKING FOR A CHASUNAH - HELP!!
1  2  Next

energy11

Post Mon, Aug 23 2010, 8:56 am
I volunteered to cook for my daughter's Chasunah - on a budget!
We're having less than a hundred guests.
I am a great cook and enjoy cooking tremendously.
I even cooked for my boys Bris!
BUT, I need your help with menu ideas (on a budget) and food presentation.
I don't want to waste your time typing recipes, I can pretty much figure out how to cook anything.

Anything you have seen, liked or got impressed with, would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks a million and Tizku Lemitsvos!!

Dev80

Post Mon, Aug 23 2010, 9:15 am
No useful ideas this second, just wanted to say WOAHH I AM IN AWE OF YOU!!! Mazel Tov and Much Hatzlacha!!!

aidelmaidel

Post Mon, Aug 23 2010, 9:48 am
Do you know how many courses you are serving and how it is being served? Buffet, family style, waiter, etc?

What is the custom in your community?

Is there food at the kabbolos ponim? Is it just cake and fruit and seltzer or is it a whole smorg? If the former, can you pass that off to a friend to do?

What time of day is the meal? Is it lunch time or dinner time? What season? Now? Late September/October? December? (Soup is easy to make and very filling for the winter months, but might be too hot for right now). Is this indoor or outdoor? Is it a sit down affair or a backyard with cafe tables affair? I would definitely serve different things depending on the type of season, where, etc.

Can you buy parts of it like dessert, bread, etc?

I think I saw Mindy make once for sheva brochas something with puff pastry with poppy, sesame, and some other sort of seeds baked on it and then stuck that in a scoop of mashed potatoes and it looked super fancy.

Are you thinking:
fruit/appetizers
Fish & Salad
Soup
Main course / Vegetable / grain/starch
Dessert

Liba