Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Parenting our children -> Toddlers
Four year old and shabbos

momssr

Post Sat, Mar 05 2011, 5:02 pm
hi everyone

I am writing because I am having a little issue with my almost 4 year old and am not quite sure how to deal with it. She is my oldest so I have no previous experience with this type of issue. Basically on shabat she will color and when I tell her she isnt allowed shell just ignore be completely and continue. I dont know how to respond to this. Do I force her to stop and take her pens away? Do I ignore it? I dont want to turn her off from shabat either but I dont want her coloring on shabat. I thought of hiding her crayons before shabat, but then again she can find a pen somewhere else if she really wants to. Any advice anyone? thanks!

cc

Post Sat, Mar 05 2011, 5:20 pm
Definatly hide everything you dont want her touching before shabbos. It just lessons the temptation. If she finds a pen then say no coloring, and try to distract her but dont make a big deal about it. She's only 4 and when she gets a older she'll learn in school and feel how on shabbos we dont touch those things. Good luck.

Liba

Post Sat, Mar 05 2011, 5:22 pm
I agree... make sure to put away the mukza things and have plenty of fun Shabbos friendly games and activities waiting.

oranges

Post Sat, Mar 05 2011, 6:28 pm
Make sure you hide everything before shabbos. Can't be too difficult to make sure all pens/crayons are high up or hidden.
If it would help you can let her help you put everything away, have a muktza box and go around the house together putting stuff into it. then put it on a veeery high shelf.
Then make a big deal of taking down a shabbos box which should have special shabbos items in for her. books, games, dolls,whatever your daughter is into. keep this aside especially for shabbos.
So bye bye muktza box, hello shabbos box.