Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Interesting Discussions
I don’t know much about college…HELP
1  2  Next

amother

Post Wed, Sep 27 2006, 10:43 pm
Okay, I’m going anonymous because this is extremely embarrassing. I graduated a Chassidic high school and never even got the High school diploma because the school did not teach us the government’s required stuff and we weren’t tested.

I often admire people that go to college and get themselves this great education but I’m stumped. I need some smart-head here to explain the basic to me please.

First of all, why the BA , the Masters… all those weird titles? What do you gain besides for a title?

Is a BA related to a specific field or does it just mean ‘in general, I’m more educated”? is it a crash coarse of everything? Or is it industry related?

Once I have these questions answered, I will have a ton more.

I still need to know what kind of jobs expect what kind of titles, to motivate me to learn some more…

anon

Post Wed, Sep 27 2006, 11:01 pm
A BA usually means "Overall, I'm more educated", whereas a Masters is specific training for a specific profession. These days you generally need a masters to have any professional title, and you need your BA before you can go for your Masters. It used to be that you can become an accountant with just a BA, but I think they're changing the requirements, and with that too you will also need a Masters.

If you don't have a high school diploma, you will probably need to first get an associates degree which I believe takes about two years.

A BA generally takes around 4 years.

Masters is another 2-3 years.