Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Frum boss casually touches me at work...

amother

Post Tue, Nov 21 2006, 3:10 am
I've been working at my office for about six months. The office is mixed in terms of levels of yiddishkeit, but my boss is black-hat frum. (So am I...sheitel, DH learns in kollel, etc.)

Since I started working, my boss sometimes will just casually touch me. Nothing serious, (although of course in the big picture ANY touch, even the smallest, is serious), but for example if he needs to get my attention, sometimes he'll quickly poke my arm. When we're looking at the computer together, sometimes he'll quickly bruch my hand away from the mouse so he can use it. (Btw, he does this with everyone in the office, not just me.)

Now, I would be REALLY disturbed if this guy was FFB. But he's a 40-something BT for about 5 years. Although he leads a normal, black-hat life, (married w/kids), he wasn't frum for most of his life and I know that it's hard to loose little habits like this.

(I speak from experience. I'm also BT and tend to be way to comfortable and open with men, develop frienships, etc.)

I don't want to embarrass my boss. He's a very, very nice person and a serious yid. Of course he knows he shouldn't be touching me even causally, but the problem is, I don't think he even realizes that he does.

Of course this makes me extrememly uncomfortable. How can I get him to stop without embarrassing him?

HindaRochel

Post Tue, Nov 21 2006, 9:41 am
Maybe you could just raise the issue with him? Say, when there is no one near by something along the lines of an "I know you aren't doing it deliberately, but I really am uncomfortable when you tap me to get my attention." As far as the mouse goes or any other type of touch you can anticipate; if he is near you try and be aware of his movements so you can move your hand before he touches you.