Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
New job offer and current job counteroffer- advice needed
1  2  Next

amother

Post Thu, Jun 07 2012, 6:03 pm
So I am asking all you imamothers for input. People may know my details so I am amother.

When I got married and was still in school, I worked for the yeshiva that my husband was learning in. I was an admin assitant and was there for 1 & 3/4 years. I was VERY happy there. Loved the environment, my boss, the fact that its 2 min away from my apartment. When I finished school with a degree in accounting, I looked for another job, first in accounting and then in bookkeeping.

After a number of months looking, I sent in my resume to a local day school and I was hired. I am the business office- I do the bookkeeping and everything else that needs to be done in the office. (organize the annual dinner, tuition, other secretary type jobs) I am paid low for my job I think (its about $16 an hour) and I have tons of overtime- esp in dinner seasons that I dont get paid extra for, it is part of my salary (working 40 hours a week- but since I get out early for fridays the rest of the 40 hours is made up with overtime during dinner/busy seasons. I have to commute (~40 min round trip). I sometimes get annoyed at my boss. (I vent about work at least once a week at home about him) I do have off for yomim tovim in full and a couple weeks paid vacation... that cannot be taken in July/August (bein hazmanim) cause the dinner season is around then. But over all I am decently happy here.