Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Health & Wellness -> Healthy Lifestyle/ Weight Loss/ Exercise
Lose Your Tummy; Healing Diastasis Recti
1  2  3  Next

TranquilityAndPeace

Post Tue, Jun 19 2012, 10:46 am
Someone PM'ed me about how to do exercises to heal diastasis recti, which is a separation of the abdominal muscles and results in a 'mummy tummy'.

I'm taking a 6 week class for this, so I'll post what I learn - but I'm far from an expert! If you want to buy the book or DVD that shows how to do these exercises in detail, look here: http://www.diastasisrehab.com/products.html

Firstly, I bought a splint with 3 velcro straps, which I use to pull my muscles together. I was only able to sleep in it once; all the other times I couldn't fall asleep and took it off. I wear it for a few hours a day, especially when I know that I'll be moving around a lot. You're supposed to wear it as much as possible.

The main exercise is bringing your belly button inward in a hundred reps at a time. Picture your stomach as a horizontal building. Your belly button at rest is at the 'first floor' and your spine is at the '6th floor'. Focus on sitting or standing with good posture, and bring your belly button inward, to the 3rd floor. Then bring it into the 5th floor and release only until the 3rd floor- not all the way at rest. Do this 100 times, 10 times a day, for a total of 1,000 a day. It takes about 2.5 minutes to do 100. Count out loud while you do it, to make sure that you're breathing.

Belly breathes- before and after doing the transverse exercises described in the paragraph above, take a few deep belly breaths. In through the nose, allow the stomach to expand naturally, then out the through the mouth, allow the stomach to deflate naturally. (Weirdly enough, I actually breathe wrong, so this takes a lot of focus.)