Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Computers, Phones and Devices
Calling all graphic designers

igiveup

Post Tue, Jun 19 2012, 1:20 pm
Need to create a price sheet for a big potential client. I'm just starting out & not really sure what the basic prices for ads are. Can you guys help me out?? I need the prices for a full page, 1/2 a page 1/4 page, 2 inch banner & 1/8th of a page. Anyone???

MrsMom

Post Tue, Jun 19 2012, 1:22 pm
I personally charge by the hour and provide an estimated cost. Some clients can be a pain and some can be easygoing so you can never really tell how long it will take.

be good

Post Tue, Jun 19 2012, 1:34 pm
MrsMom wrote:
I personally charge by the hour and provide an estimated cost. Some clients can be a pain and some can be easygoing so you can never really tell how long it will take.

good answer. agreed.

as for how much you should charge per hour; entering the field as an entry level designer a handful of years ago I charged $20/hr. at this point, with many very happy clients, b"H, I am up to 55/hr, but less for non profits. People seem to think this is still low. I will raise it soon as I get the guts.

kb

Post Tue, Jun 19 2012, 1:49 pm
I don't do ads that much, but I'll never understand why a 1/2 page ad should cost less to be designed? (Someone once asked me if I charge less if it's black and white!) It's the same design, same challenge of fitting everything into a certain amount of space in an aesthetic manner... and I've never found that a half page ad takes any less time to design.

I like to give the client a range, and then, depending on how difficult they were, how challenging the design was for me, how much time it took, and how many revisions I had to do... I bill accordingly.

OOTBubby

Post Tue, Jun 19 2012, 2:02 pm