Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women -> Teachers' Room
Special ed. evaluation and assessment?

pecan

Post Sun, Aug 19 2012, 4:15 pm
Hi,
Sara Schneirer college is advertising postgraduate courses. I have my master's in special education and I am interested in courses on evaluation and assessment. Does anyone here evaluate children? Has anyone done the program? Do you know the cost of the program? Is it a difficult field to get into? What is the salary? Is it more supplementary or can you get a full time job evaluating children?
Thanks.

sbs

Post Sun, Aug 19 2012, 9:21 pm
I also have a masters in special ed and looked into this course

it seems in ny state you don't need to have a special degree or course for evaluations,
a masters is enough
and of course you have to be familiar with the tests and you gotta be able to start doing evaluations somewhere

it's possible the course will help cuz you'll learn how to do the evaluations and you'll have something else on your resume, but it's not a must have

as far as salary, there are lots of people who do evaluations privately, like when a parent is told by a school to take their kid for an evaluation, but you have to have a name cuz the schools recommend people they are familiar with,
the good thing about being new is you'd be cheaper, and lots of people would go for that cuz it can be very costly

a job evaluating would be working for an agency, but I'm not sure the details on that...

pecan

Post Mon, Aug 20 2012, 11:51 am
Thank you. I'm just wondering if people prefer getting evaluated by a psychologist, versus a SETI.

seeker

Post Mon, Aug 20 2012, 11:56 am