Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Household Management -> Finances
Family size of 3. spend $4,000 a mo.?
1  2  Next

sayinghi

Post Sun, Nov 04 2012, 12:46 pm
Hi,

im hoping I could get some input from you guys! I am a full time student and my husband is a medical intern. both of us work an insane amount of hours with no pay. we have one child and are living off student loans.

I constantly read about amothers who spend 25-30k a year with bigger family size than we have and do not know how this is possible. can you help me narrow down our spending?

4,000 a mo.

does not include health insurance, any new clothing for anyone. (my mom buys clothing for me son and occationally for me...)

no take out food.

we pay rent plus utilities on average $900.
play group for ds $245
we need two cars to get to work/school
thats $208 insurance
and $221 one car is a lease (no monay to buy used)
gas costs us a fortune we both commute $450
diapers for my son $35
cleaning help $72 I tried living with out-it was worse than a disaster.

we just have so many unexpected expenses like a driving ticket I just got. an immediate family wedding oot that we had to attend..

cleaners for my husband- he needs his clothing to be pressed for his job.

and the list goes on and on.

I was just thinking if this is what we spend with one dc what happens when our familt size increases?!?

am I the only one with this problem?
I feel like I cut back so much yet cant manage to lower the monthly spending.

mommy of boys

Post Sun, Nov 04 2012, 1:50 pm
the expenses you listed add up to aliitle over $2,000 a month. What else are you spending on?
The small things really add up if you dont concentrate on them too much!

Hashemlovesme

Post Sun, Nov 04 2012, 2:08 pm
you left out groceries

lmc91

Post Sun, Nov 04 2012, 2:16 pm