Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Recipe Collection -> Meat
Second Cut Brisket Corned Beef How to Cook
1  2  3  Next

lk1234

Post Sun, May 12 2013, 8:27 pm
This is my first time making meat for yom tov as I am always very very scared to spend that much money and botch it.

But since I've been learning more about cooking I figured I'd give meat a try!

So can someone give me a simple recipe for this second cut brisket that I have? I think someone posted somewhere about coke or 7-up.

What size pan do I use? It is 2.60 lbs.
On stove or in oven?

Thanks!

lk1234

Post Sun, May 12 2013, 8:28 pm
oh- and was I supposed to buy second cut or 1st cut or some other name for it? I just picked this one because it was a bit more expensive (like a couple dollars more) than 1st cut, so I figured it must be better meat. Am I right?

ra_mom

Post Sun, May 12 2013, 8:52 pm
So it's a corned beef? As in pickled 2nd cut brisket?
Cook it stovetop for best results.
Directions in link attached
http://www.imamother.com/forum.....=snug
For a 2.6 lb. roast, simmer for 1 and a half hours.

lk1234

Post Sun, May 12 2013, 8:57 pm
thank you ra_mom

It doesn't say if it was pickled or not
yikes- is that a problem?

It just says "second cut brisket corned beef".

lk1234

Post Sun, May 12 2013, 8:58 pm
and, I just checked your recipe- great!
It doesn't need any special sauce or spices? Just plain will be good?

lkwdlady

Post Sun, May 12 2013, 8:59 pm
As far as I know, a "brisket" is one type of meat and a corned beef is another type - so recipes for corned beef will be different than recipes for for brisket.

1st cut meat is the best - I think
2nd cut has more fat - - it was probably more expensive than 1st cut because it weighed more. You will pay more per pound if it's first cut.

Then there is a "pickled deckel" which I believe is a lower end cut for corned beef but if not too fatty will taste great if cooked properly.