Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
I have a great idea for an invention! Now what?

amother

Post Mon, May 27 2013, 1:10 pm
I thought of a terrific idea for a product invention!

Does anyone know what I should do next?

I don't have the money to have it manufactured in a factory or get a patent (those run 20,000 or more!).

Anyone have any ideas of what kind of resources are available to inventors? I'd be willing to partner with someone who could finance bringing this idea to fruition.

The Shark Tank series has ended for this year and I don't want to wait until next year for only a chance to possibly pitch the idea!

amother

Post Mon, May 27 2013, 1:11 pm
Get a patent searcher to check if it already exists. Most things to, surprisingly! That's the first step. You could do it yourself - maybe google how to.

Source: I am a patent searcher by profession.

greenfire

Post Mon, May 27 2013, 1:39 pm
you need to make a prototype ... have it sketched ... the invention written up in detail & have them all submitted to the patent & trademark office

http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/search/

good luck !!!

[as far as getting funding - you might find companies that would be interested in selling your product - putting down the financing - for a percentage of course]

amother

Post Mon, May 27 2013, 5:07 pm
amother wrote:
Get a patent searcher to check if it already exists. Most things to, surprisingly! That's the first step. You could do it yourself - maybe google how to.

Source: I am a patent searcher by profession.

How much should I expect to pay for a patent search? And how do I know if idea is "patent-able"?

Greenfire, thank you for that link!

lili123

Post Wed, Jun 12 2013, 3:32 pm