Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> The Social Scene
Anyone a gardener? I need a few pointers

btMOMtoFFBs

Post Tue, Mar 13 2007, 2:07 pm
Any fellow gardeners out there?

I'm kind of new at gardening. Any tips for getting my tomato and pepper seeds to sprout? Many flowers have started sprouting, but not the veggies. Confused

Please post your suggestions ASAP.

chocolate moose

Post Sat, Mar 17 2007, 9:52 pm
isn't it kind of early for them?

greenfire

Post Sat, Mar 17 2007, 10:05 pm
It takes time ... and why are you worried if the flowers are blooming ... the veggies come next ... it sounds good so far ... and where are you that you are growing stuff ... I guess somewhere sunny Sunny

SouthernShalom

Post Sat, Mar 17 2007, 10:28 pm
edit

Last edited by SouthernShalom on Thu, May 15 2008, 11:13 am; edited 1 time in total

btMOMtoFFBs

Post Sun, Mar 18 2007, 7:41 am
Sorry for lack of clarity. I started the plants indoors from seeds. They are all in little peat pots, covered with saran wrap and kept in a sunny window. I'm in the mid-atlantic area and can't transfer my seedlings outside until May 1.

So still, all of the flower seeds have sprouted but not the tomato or pepper seeds. Its been 10 days since I started them, should I just give up?

I think even if the veggies do still sprout they won't be very big by May 1 and I may not see fruits so perhaps I should just buy some plants instead.

I am a first timer at gardening from seed so if anyone has tips I'd appreciate it.

ssbarnes

Post Sun, Mar 18 2007, 8:41 am
Your seeds should germinate 7-14 days after planting. Some factors to take into consideration are:

Did you use peat pots or peat pellets?
How much H2O are you giving them?
How much sun are they receiving?