Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women -> Teachers' Room
How do married mothers teach at a BY???
1  2  3  Next

amother

Post Wed, Mar 05 2014, 11:21 am
I am moving and looking for a new job. I currently teach at a MO school which offers respectable (though be no means large) pay and benefits. I know it's early so IYH more options will open up, but I've now had 2 job offers from BY type schools, and I am shocked that they even manage to employ mothers. The pay they quoted me is LESS than what I would have to pay for every single available child care option. Even for a married woman with no kids it's a joke. I would only work for such pay if I were a fresh-out-of-sem grad. I have a masters and several years of experience. But OK, I get it, the BYs don't have money. But what I don't get is those who are mothers who teach in such schools- how do you do it? I saw these schools and they happen not to be exclusively staffed with girls who just came home from seminary. So how do you work on such a salary if you have kids who need child care?

harriet

Post Wed, Mar 05 2014, 11:25 am
They often either give tuition discounts and/or pay salary directly to school as tuition (so it's not tax deductible). If you have a number of children attending that school, and have such an arrangement, it can be worth it.

amother

Post Wed, Mar 05 2014, 11:27 am
I'm one of those. What job would pay better that s assuming you have no degree. When I work it out I'm getting about 30 an hour. Minus six for babysiting. I love the school schedule, off in summers and all holidays. I love the teaching. For now it works.

amother

Post Wed, Mar 05 2014, 11:31 am
Where are you paying 6 an hour for babysitting? What if your kids aren't school age yet- so no tuition benefit? And if you have only boys- so no BY anyway. I doubt the yeshivas give a tuition break to moms who work at the BY...

amother