Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Chinuch, Education & Schooling
Any ideas how to wash tzisis?

ayiddishemama

Post Thu, Mar 06 2014, 10:13 pm
Hi! Newbie here! I am just amazed at the achdus on this site. Everyone is do eager to help eachother out!
Anyway maybe someone can help me. I have a pile of my sons tzisis waiting to be washed and I am dreading it. If. I throw it oin the wash it gets all tangled and if I do it by hand it takes. Me forever and still doesn't come out clean. I had some friends suggest to tie pony tails or stocking but I never had luck with those. Any tried and true ideas that actually work???

MiracleMama

Post Thu, Mar 06 2014, 10:16 pm
I soak them in oxyclean and then hang dry. No machine washing/ drying.

Happy 2B

Post Thu, Mar 06 2014, 10:22 pm
I wash and dry my hubby's tzitzis all the time no tangling.

What I do is I take a knee high and cut the bottom off. Then I put all the strings through the knee high and then tie it in a knot. You can even two or three in the same knee high. You can dry it like that. Never tangles when it's dried I untie it and viola clean and no tangles Smile

ayiddishemama

Post Thu, Mar 06 2014, 10:49 pm
Wow thanks guys for the good advice! Keep em coming!

Rutabaga

Post Thu, Mar 06 2014, 10:50 pm
A trick I learned from my mother:

Bring all 4 corners of the tzitzis together and gather all the fringes. Wrap in aluminum foil lengthwise and then curl tightly. Place tzitzis in a mesh laundry bag (meant for delicates) and throw in the regular wash. Line dry.

busydev

Post Thu, Mar 06 2014, 11:57 pm
my tzitzis washing problem is keeping the wool strings from getting yellow. once we are sharing tzitzis tips does anyone have any ideas how to keep them white?

takeiteasy

Post Fri, Mar 07 2014, 3:35 pm