Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Yom Tov / Holidays -> Purim
So soon?!

seeker

Post Sun, Mar 16 2014, 2:09 pm
This is my first year with a kid in any kind of school - she is 3 years old and in nursery. It never crossed my mind to even dream of giving mishloach manos to everyone in her class! I know from my own childhood that as kids get older they want on their own to give to all their friends. Also, I had a very small class growing up. She has over twenty kids in her nursery class and so far at least three of them gave to the whole class. And not dinky little things either - small bags but stuffed with junk. I had told her (and I'm sure the morahs taught them something too) that it's a mitzvah on Purim to give some food to a friend - so which friend would you like to bring something to? And she named a kid she likes and we prepared a simple offering.

So, is this it? By next year do I need to have twenty-something goodie bags and walk them all over town lest my baby be considered the one not worth being friends with? Do I need to scramble right now to reciprocate to the kids who already brought us stuff today?

And most of all, WHY are people doing this?! It has to be the mothers, what 3-year-old thinks of this? I mean, one came with a POEM! Not the kid's doing. Fellow mothers, why are you doing this???

flowerpower

Post Sun, Mar 16 2014, 2:18 pm
I never heard of such a thing! The school sends home notes that noone is allowed to bring mishloach manos to school. Same rules by the boys. I would call the school and discuss it with them. This has to stop.

seeker

Post Sun, Mar 16 2014, 2:40 pm