Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Children's Health
Need plastic surgeon for stitches ASAP (NY)
1  2  Next

amother

Post Wed, Apr 09 2014, 11:05 pm
Our pediatrician recommended a Dr. Kimmel on Prospect Park West. First of all, any reviews on him?

Secondly, we have a medicaid insurance and he doesn't accept that. Is there such a thing as a good plastic surgeon who does accept medicaid insurances?

The cut is about an inch and a half long on the bottom of the chin. Looked quite deep to me, doctors don't seem so fazed but said because it's a baby and near the face, he can do the stitches but if it were his baby he'd want a plastic surgeon. Taped it up to last us through the night and said go to one first thing in the morning.

I am thoroughly traumatized and nervous Sad I am not good at this mommy medical drama stuff

ra_mom

Post Wed, Apr 09 2014, 11:10 pm
Dr. Kimmel is great but if he doesn't accept your insurance you will pay a bloody fortune. I know, I did.

Dr. Smith is also great. I believe he accepts most insurance. Call him right away. (718) 608-1111

amother

Post Wed, Apr 09 2014, 11:18 pm
You can meet Dr. Kimmel in Maimonides - fast track- he will accept your insurance there.
Dr. Smith is good too.
You can try calling Asisa, Dr. Kessler, I think he does stitches too 718.851.3000
Good luck.

minnie mouse

Post Wed, Apr 09 2014, 11:20 pm
Dr. Fleisher. Sorry but I dont have his number.I was told you have up to 24 hrs to stitch. He accepts some insurances. He didnt accept mine and I paid a fortune.

Kaybee

Post Wed, Apr 09 2014, 11:22 pm
We met dr Kimmel in Methodist emergency room, he did a great job on the face and it was covered by Medicaid

Kessler is good but hes not a plastic surgeon.

greenfire

Post Wed, Apr 09 2014, 11:26 pm
under the chin won't be noticeable ... & the tape is just as good if not better than stitches