Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Parenting our children -> Preschoolers
Need help in choosing a pre-school/yeshiva please!!

amother

Post Sun, Jun 01 2014, 2:58 pm
Hi there,

I'm new to the whole choosing a school/yeshiva for my child since it's still my first one. I have a 2.5 year old bright boy, B'H and I'm not sure where to send him for pre-school in Brooklyn. A little bit about my hubby and me: we are what you call modern orthodox although we're pretty right winged. We are getting rid of the tv (I was never a fan but my husband works a little slower than I do) and limit what our son listens to or watches on the computer, if he does. I want a school that's frum but normal. Has a great secular education and is warm and loving that will teach my son the love of Torah and mitzvot. I've looked into several schools- Chofetz Chaim, Ahavas Torah, Torah Vodaas, Kaminetz, Ohel Torah, etc. My husband is Sefardic and I'm Ashnekaz but we are open to either type of school. Would anyone know which of these schools are what we are looking for? The last thing I'd want is to enroll my son somewhere and pull him out because we are not happy. I know there is no "perfect"school however, we're trying to find the one that's best suited for us and our son. We are willing to take more upon ourself for our sons best interest. We are very growth oriented but not yishivish. Both of us are baal tshuvah but for years already..I went to public school at a point but then switched to Bais Yaakov so I have a pretty good background. We both did the whole year in Israel after high school also. Any input would be super helpful. I'm not from NY originally and this is pretty new to me. Thanks so much!!

octopus

Post Sun, Jun 01 2014, 3:33 pm
don't know ohel torah but all these schools basically get the same ppl. getting a nice class is just luck of the draw. I think that counts more than "type" of school.

amother