Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Judaism -> Halachic Questions and Discussions
Having Milchigs on Shabbos?
1  2  Next

amother

Post Fri, Jun 06 2014, 8:30 am
We have so much leftovers from yom tov (milchigs) that I figured I would serve it on Shabbos and do a milchigs Friday night. I just wanted to know if anyone else is doing the same this Shabbos. I have never done a milchigs meal on Shabbos before and it does feel a bit weird. My husband, however, is very excited about the idea.

Happy18

Post Fri, Jun 06 2014, 8:38 am
We do it every so often. Its a nice change. If your husband is on board definitely do it! No extra work for you!

Mrs Bissli

Post Fri, Jun 06 2014, 9:10 am
Not when we have guests (most of our guests do expect meaty on Shabbat) but if we are on our own or have guests who are vegetarians or know us enough, I don't mind doing milky for Shabbat. Though I would definitely let the guests know in advance, so they don't have meaty items at kiddushim.

amother

Post Fri, Jun 06 2014, 9:29 am
Mrs Bissli wrote:
Not when we have guests (most of our guests do expect meaty on Shabbat) but if we are on our own or have guests who are vegetarians or know us enough, I don't mind doing milky for Shabbat. Though I would definitely let the guests know in advance, so they don't have meaty items at kiddushim.

The only other person we are having tonight for dinner is my brother-in-law. I already told him that we will be doing a milchigs Shabbos and he said he is fine with it.

5*Mom

Post Fri, Jun 06 2014, 9:31 am
Shabbos afternoon is so long, why don't you just serve the leftovers for seuda shlishit? There should be plenty of time between lunch and then to be able to eat milchigs.

imasinger

Post Fri, Jun 06 2014, 10:10 am
We have a milchig Shabbos every once in a while.

But today, I'm sick of dairy, so I'm freezing the leftovers and going with meat.

Ruchel