Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Judaism -> Halachic Questions and Discussions
Why didn't she shake my hand?
1  2  Next

amother

Post Mon, Jul 21 2014, 12:43 pm
I was at a social event in my town there other day with a lot of other Jewish moms and their kids. I live in a small community where everyone knows each other and there was a new Mom there, so I went over to introduce myself. I work in the professional business world, so I am used to extending my hand and shaking hands of new people that I meet, especially women as there is no negiah issue.

I extended my hand to this new frum woman and she wouldn't shake my hand! I am FFB Modern Orthodox with very Chassidish family and I have never ever seen this before!

It was really awkward. What am I missing here? Some chumra that I never heard of?

teddyb

Post Mon, Jul 21 2014, 12:48 pm
not a chumra but I have never seen shaking hands among jewish women in a social setting. granted im mostly around yeshivish/charedi type women but I have never seen it done. (men do it- shake shalom etc, but women not that ive ever noticed)

maybe it wasn't a chumra but just she doesn't usually shake hands so didn't realize? I for one have only ever really shaken hands with doctors (work in a jewish setting)

sky

Post Mon, Jul 21 2014, 12:54 pm
Did she say she wouldn't shake your hand or did she seem flustered and unsure what to do?

sequoia

Post Mon, Jul 21 2014, 1:07 pm
She probably forgot it was allowed.

Learning

Post Mon, Jul 21 2014, 1:13 pm
Maybe she caught by surprise and she didn't put her hand out fast enough. I also never saw woman shake hands.

monseychick

Post Mon, Jul 21 2014, 1:20 pm
I would of just put my hand on her shoulder , smiled warmly and said "I'm happy to meet you", and see how she reacted.

Frumdoc

Post Mon, Jul 21 2014, 1:43 pm