Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Would you pay out of pocket for speech therapy?
1  2  3  Next

amother

Post Thu, Jul 24 2014, 1:20 pm
I'm a speech therapist currently working in a hospital (peds). I'm considering starting a small side business seeing clients in my home. I don't want to have the hassle of billing insurance, so I'm thinking I'll do private pay only. Do you think this will limit my client base too much? And, if you've paid out of pocket for a private SLP, how did you hear about her? Thank you!!

Maya

Post Thu, Jul 24 2014, 1:23 pm
I would, but only if I trust your credentials. If your degree is from Raizel Reit or TTI, I would not pay for that.

I understand I'm in the minority, though. I know most people would only get what's paid for by the insurance company.

sky

Post Thu, Jul 24 2014, 1:25 pm
I have and I plan on doing it again. My insurance only covers 90 sessions and my kids needed more then that.
And what they get in school is worthless if it its really needed.

amother

Post Thu, Jul 24 2014, 1:31 pm
last summer I was seriously considering private speech therapy for my boys. My insurance wouldnt cover it. My pediatrician recommended someone, but we couldnt afford it. ($100 X twice a week X 10 weeks - for 2 boys)

The other place where I would get recommendation from is my kids speech therapist that the school provides.

amother

Post Thu, Jul 24 2014, 1:33 pm
While I do pay out of pocket for speech therapy, I consider your attitude of "I don't want the hassle of billing" insensitive.