Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Babysitter nightmare WWYD?
1  2  3  Next

amother

Post Tue, Aug 19 2014, 8:40 pm
posting amother because I already told people about this IRL.

please tell me what you would do in this situation cuz I'm at a loss.

I thought I found a great babysitter. seemed nice and had good references. she's a woman who recently was divorced and I think she's doing babysitting more to keep herself busy rather than for the money, which worked gr8 for me because right now I only need a few hours between preschool and when I get home for my one child.

I'm a teacher so I still have a few days left before officially starting the school year. today I had a doctor appointment and decided afterwards I would like to go clothes shopping and let the babysitter stay with my son so he can get used to her (and so I could shop!)

I get a text from her after itold her I would be home soon saying that while my son was napping she went ouside to the car to put money in the meter and got locked out.
I don't know how long she was locked out for.

I was so flustered about it when I got home and did'nt know if I should fire her or just talk to her about it. I very calmly told her I would rather she did NOT do this. (long story logistically but very few times due to the hours she would be by me would she have to go to a meter). but the more and more I think about it I am fuming and anxious and feel like I cannot trust this woman with something that should be complete common sense.

she has a set of my keys and we had made up she would come back next week.

how would you handle the situation? would you keep the babysitter and just have a firm talk about why this wasn't acceptable? would you assume right away that this was unacceptable fire her right away? would you wait to fire her until you could find a suitable replacement?

I'm running out of time.. help!!!!

FranticFrummie