Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women -> Teachers' Room
Teaching wardrobe

bigsis144

Post Sun, Sep 14 2014, 2:27 pm
How many outfits (per season, in a city where summer and winter climates are VERY different) do you think I need if I teach 5 days a week?

PLEASE don't tell me to just have staples/separates that can be "endlessly combined with different accessories!" because I am NOT fashion savvy. Is 10 outfits per season (I.e. two weeks without repeating anything) reasonable?

Background:
* This is my first year teaching full time. Before this I worked from home/taught an hour-long class twice a week at most. So I don't have too much already in my closet.
* I'm teaching 5th grade girls who already comment on EVERYTHING I wear. ("I like your necklace/shoes/skirt!" "Your shoes are so interesting!" "You're not wearing any makeup today!" Rolling Eyes Yes, I've told them these comments are inappropriate, but some are really coming from a sweet and eager to please place. Only a few too-cool-for-school kids use it to show they're comfortable with saying ANYTHING they feel like to the teacher/on equal ground with me/naturally sarcastic little Queen Bees in the making.) Like I said, fashion isn't second nature to me and I'm scared of them not respecting me for being "the nerdy teacher". My inner wallflower high school version of myself is so intimidated. I know I don't need to be the trendiest teacher in the school, but I don't want them speculating whether I'm pregnant or not because I'm wearing something unflattering, or snickering behind my back because omg, she totally wore that exact black skirt THREE TIMES this week.
* I work in a Bais Yaakov school (just to get an idea for the dress code level).

Fabulous

Post Sun, Sep 14 2014, 2:47 pm
I'd say 4 skirts and 10-13 tops to match to them. Try for 2 pairs of shoes as well

Post Sun, Sep 14 2014, 3:26 pm