Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
HUGE mistake in career choice
1  2  3  4  Next

amother

Post Wed, Oct 01 2014, 11:24 am
I got married young and therefore did not go to college until after I was married. I worked in an office for about 2 years and then DH and I decided I should go to school since I dont really have skills that can make significant money without a degree. He paid every penny of my education since my parents no longer paid for things after I got married. I majored in psychology because I found it interesting and looked into nutrition (which I found boring), nursing (schedule too demanding as DH does not have a flexible job and I already had a baby), and OT, PT and special ed (which I felt were flooded). Because I liked psychology I decided to go into mental health. DH was NOT happy about this because he was afraid how it woudl impact our family, and mostly because the starting pay is not great at all, it is not until you have a private practice years down the road that you can actually pull in more money. I convinced him that this is what I really wanted and I'll be happier doing somethign that I love blah blah blah...he tried to support me emotionally while I was in school, but I know he was never really happy aobut it.