Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Interesting Discussions
Do you give your kids a brocha friday night?
1  2  Next

amother

Post Sun, Oct 26 2014, 12:31 am
Not your husband, you? Do you give your children a brocha friday night? I have been doing so for a few years now. My older boys 'humor me' and let me give them their brocha. My other children seem to appreciate it.

This week, I saw a very yeshivish mother give her adult married children a brocha and felt validated that I am not 'off' for wanting to give the brocha.

It got me wondering weather anybody else does it too.

Ashrei

Post Sun, Oct 26 2014, 12:42 am
Of course!

Rutabaga

Post Sun, Oct 26 2014, 1:14 am
My mother always gave us a bracha on Friday nights (still does if we're together for shabbos) so I do the same.

DH also gives a bracha because his father always did/does.

There's quite a scene when we go to my parents for shabbos and my grandfather is also there. My grandfather gives brachos to everyone, my mother gives to whatever children/children in law/grandchildren are around, and DH and I give to DD.

freidasima

Post Sun, Oct 26 2014, 2:27 am
In dh's family they don't give brochos at all, ever.
In my family my father would bench me once a year on erev YK and then at my wedding for the last time. It's only for single children (I guess in the sense that they then get married have their own kids and bench them).

So I bench the kids erev YK. Dh doesn't. With my single kids every year on Erev YK I wish them that this will be the last YK that I bench them. This year one of them said "you say that every year already". Yeah well.

vicki

Post Sun, Oct 26 2014, 3:19 am
freidasima wrote:

In my family my father would bench me once a year on erev YK and then at my wedding for the last time.

Me too. I remember wondering about this but we were always in a hurry to get to shul so I never got to ask about this minhag.

FranticFrummie