Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Parenting our children -> Infants
Diapers or Lack of Them
1  2  Next

amother

Post Sun, Nov 02 2014, 4:25 pm
My 4 month old who is EBF makes on around 1 diaper a week. She is very, very gassy and passes gas loudly and often looks like she is in pain (crying, then passing gas, lifting her feet all the way in the air even when she's trying to sleep etc.) She has been doing this since she was a month old. Is this gas connected to the fact that she hardly ever goes to the bathroom? Is it normal for her to go MORE than a week w/o a dirty diaper (she just did that this week)? Any ideas of things that can help her?

Ilana Tamar

Post Sun, Nov 02 2014, 4:32 pm
I am not a doctor, but I'm pretty sure that this is NOT normal. Might be a good idea to discuss with your pediatrician.

amother

Post Sun, Nov 02 2014, 4:41 pm
For breastfed babies, it's normal to have 5 diapers a day or one every 5 days or something in between. Wet diapers and weight gain will tell you if your baby is getting enough. But if your baby is so gassy you might want to look into probiotics and/or an elimination diet.

Common culprits are

Dairy
Wheat
Soy
Eggs
Bovine protein (beef)
Tomatoes
Broccoli/cauliflower/cabbage
Beans
Chocolate or coffee
Raw onions/garlic

Also, what does that one diaper look like?
Mustard yellow is normal

Green and frothy means too much foremilk, which can cause gassiness and discomfort.

Yellow with small bits of green solids means the iron you're taking is passing in large amounts to baby, which can also cause constipation, gas and discomfort.

It's worth speaking with a lactation consultant who is also a nurse (not an alternative medicine provider) to geta better idea of what's bothering your baby and how to fix the problem.

amother

Post Sun, Nov 02 2014, 4:50 pm