Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Recipe Collection -> Chicken/ Turkey
Fail proof Friday night chicken recipe please
1  2  Next

heidi

Post Wed, Nov 12 2014, 12:28 am
So this is a bit ridiculous bcz. I've been making Shabbos for many many years, but lately I can't seem to get my chicken right. By the time it gets to the table Friday night it's dried out. If you have a fail proof Friday night chicken on the bone recipe I would really appreciate it, WITH the method you use to keep it hot Friday night. (ie: how long in the oven on what temp., just on the blech etc.)
Thanks!!!

lifesagift

Post Wed, Nov 12 2014, 1:12 am
Chicken w skin on or schmeared w mayo mixture will not dry out as fast. Keep on lowest flame/ temp possible. U can braise it in a sml amt of broth in btm of pan. Ftr I don't serve baked chicken Fri night. Were red meat eaters...

ms5771

Post Wed, Nov 12 2014, 2:21 am
This one is totally foolproof!

Mix:
1/3 cup olive oil
1 tsp salt
1 TBSP garlic powder
1 TBSP onion powder (I've done it without when I didn't have it, and it tasted just as good)
2 TBSP paprika

Add a little water on the bottom of the pan, mix the ingredients and pour on top of the chicken (leave the skin on). Cover for 1 hour and bake at 350 F/180 C, then uncover for 30-45 minutes. During the time it's uncovered, I pour the sauce over the chicken every 10-15 minutes so it doesn't dry out - this is really important! I don't put it away in the fridge when it's done. I leave it out, and then I put it directly on the plata right before I light candles. I'll move it up on top of a foil pan around the time my husband comes home from shul to make sure it doesn't burn.

I have other fancy sauce ones, but this was the easiest one I could think of - and happens to be my husband's favorite, too!

cinnamon

Post Wed, Nov 12 2014, 2:53 am