Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Relationships -> Manners & Etiquette
Would this be very offensive?
1  2  Next

amother

Post Wed, Nov 12 2014, 9:36 pm
I am a nursing student and there is one thing that I struggle a lot with which is changing bed pans and cleaning patients after the toilet. I know that this comes with the job, and I really do want to get used to this so that I can help them. However the smell makes me feel I am going to vomit, it happened to me last week and it was extremely uncomfortable and shameful as the patient knew this. The other nurses know this and they laugh and because I am new they are nice to me and say I can just observe and don't have to do it. But I know that I have to be able to do this maturely and that it is part of my job. I was wondering if I could keep a mask in my pocket and put it on when I feel I need it. I would NOT wear this at any other time of interaction with patients. Would you, as my patient, find this insulting? I do NOT want to insult any patient or make them feel degraded in any way. However, I feel this would help me out a lot, and enable me to provide the help they need.

amother

Post Wed, Nov 12 2014, 9:39 pm
I would find it more offensive to have a bunch of nurses standing around laughing about my bed pan situation.

Thank you for carrying so much about your patient's feelings. I think a mask would be okay. You wear gloves for other things and no one gets offended my that!

debsey

Post Wed, Nov 12 2014, 9:39 pm
I don't think it's offensive. just say you are careful about germs, or even more diplomatically - you wouldn't want to share any of YOUR germs with them.....

ValleyMom

Post Wed, Nov 12 2014, 9:41 pm
Ogod-I'm sorry but I think I might be offended.
Im just being open and honest.

THINK.. I am relatively young and IF I needed a bedpan changed I think that would be humiliating enough...