Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Need help in negotiating

bepositive

Post Thu, Nov 13 2014, 1:24 pm
I am a web designer, and I made contact with a very large company who is interested in updating the website. I really want the job as its very good to get him onto my portfolio.

the CEO was very satisfied with the sample I made for him and he asked for a price quote.

it's a shopping website with over 3500 products- which is alot.

I said I'll charge him $1100 for the actual website, which includes all the pages, contact forms, slideshows, setting up the domain, google etc.

additionally I charged $1.5 for each product. each product needs to have a picture, the details and a separate product page.

it's a very time-consuming job.

so if he has 3500 products, the total price will be $6350

he was not happy with the price, saying that it's way too expensive and he doesn't want to spend more than $3150

I know he can definitely afford it, he is minted!

what am I meant to do??

I really really want to get this job- it's very good for my portfolio.

but is it worth going down so much for such a big job??

how should I negotiate with him?

please answer me asap!! I he is waiting for an answer.

Kumphort

Post Thu, Nov 13 2014, 1:27 pm
Build him the form. Let him add product data. When he realizes how much work it is. Do it for 1.75 an item

bepositive

Post Thu, Nov 13 2014, 1:31 pm
he already sent me a word document with all the products and details, so he is well aware of the amount of work...

TwinsMommy

Post Thu, Nov 13 2014, 1:31 pm
I'd point out that this job will likely take x number of hours. Keeping in mind how much you wish to make per hour and putting in a bit for cushioning (time might take longer than you expect), bring down the price a BIT for him while still paying yourself fairly (web designer--- $50 an hour or so maybe?)