Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Leaving infant with babysitter for 35 hrs per week?!

amother

Post Sat, Dec 13 2014, 8:33 pm
I have never worked full time before but have the opportunity to work 35 hrs per week. It would involve leaving my 4 month old infant with a babysitter full time. I've left my other children with babysitters but never for some many hours on a long term basis. I'm looking to hear from mothers who have done this in the past, to hear what, if any long term affect it had on their children.

shirachadasha

Post Sat, Dec 13 2014, 8:42 pm
I left my dc with a babysitter for more hours than that. I don't know of any negative effect. Baruch Hashem, we have a loving, special relationship.

joystock

I leave my newborn for about 33 hours a week. No, it's not ideal but it is necessary for me to work since we need 2 incomes to support our large family kah. We wouldn't manage financially if I would cut back my hours, and we live pretty simply without too many frills. I would suggest that you do extensive research on any caregiver to make sure they take care of their charges responsibly and with a lot of love and warmth. Also focus on the time that you do have with your baby to connect and bond with him/her. This applies to older children as well. I did this with all my kids and they are all more than ok!

joystock