Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Chinuch, Education & Schooling
Which school to send my daughter to
1  2  Next

oceana3

Post Tue, Dec 30 2014, 9:43 pm
We're a modern, traditional family. I'm a doctor as well as a mom. I want my 2 year old daughter to also become a professional one day, in addition to an observant Jew. I'm about to send her to school and I want her to be able to stay in one school system from pre-k through high school, ideally. We live in Flatbush, right around the corner from Yeshiva of Flatbush. I've heard good things about the school and we're planning to send our daughter there in September. Does anybody have any thoughts on this?

1. Is YOF the best modern orthodox school in the area? I heard Maagen David is good, but we're Ashkenazi and MD is apparently Sephardic only.

2. Is the education competitive with Bronx Science and Stuyvesant, etc? Our rabbi said definitely send her to yeshiva, but make sure it's a very, very good Yeshiva with a very strong secular program, not a lousy one that only offers a good religious education and leaves kids barely able to write in English. I asked him which are the best pre-k through 12 yeshivas and he said other than Ramaz in Manhattan he's really not sure. I want a religious education for my daughter but I also want her to get into a top graduate school one day.

Thank you!

morah

Post Tue, Dec 30 2014, 9:53 pm