Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Calling all administrative assistants

amother

Post Thu, Jan 15 2015, 9:23 pm
I worked as an office manager (for a bit more money) at my 2 previous positions, but after having a few kids I found it really hard to get a job again (I have a masters and a BA but my Masters is a very difficult, specialized field and there are no jobs) and I ended up taking basically a demotion and working as an administrative assistant.
I find it really demeaning taking orders from the boss daughter ( a 24 yr old), I find that I am literally working harder than anyone else in the office and getting paid the least and I HATE that they put on the bottom of my email "administrative assistant" in my signature because it makes me feel that others look at me and think I'm stupid... I know it is my own personal take on the situation, exacerbated cause I feel bad about myself doing this job, but it really irks me. I feel like the higher up your position, in my office, the less actual work you do (maybe in every office, but I worked for various non-profits before and everyone was working for a common goal).

Also my pay is just so low. I work over 40 hours a week (salary, with a mandatory hour deducted for lunch break, that I never get to take) yet I never actually hit 40 hours, because technically I'd need to work 45 to hit my hours which is just impossible. I make the princely sum of 35k/year. I feel really bad about it all and if I didnt need the money so desperately I just would bother.

Anyone else an admin assistant who feels similarly? Any words of encouragement? Does anyone here work as an admin assistant and make more than 50k a year? Any promotional prospects to loook forward to? Please- talk me off a ledge here.

Dolly Welsh

Post Thu, Jan 15 2015, 9:30 pm
Dress snappy, know the computer applications well, have a calm friendly phone voice, and get another job.