Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Anybody work for Jewish Non-Profit?

amother

Post Thu, Jan 22 2015, 9:13 pm
I'm looking into careers in non-profits, and I'm wondering if anyone here works for a Jewish non-profit and can share their experience there. I have heard some negative things, complaints of their treatments of women, low pay, etc etc etc and I'm wondering if there is any validity to those complaints.

amother

Post Thu, Jan 22 2015, 9:24 pm
Many non profits will have a lower pay if their "income" is lower.

I've been working in a non profit for about 10 years and while I may have a lower pay then my peers in the private sector I really enjoy the flexibility (to some extent) and shorter hours. I love my job and would not give it up. Great environment too.

You really need to ask around for each non profit as each one is different.

amother

Post Thu, Jan 22 2015, 9:29 pm
I currently work for a Jewish non profit and worked for another one as well. (one a yeshiva and one a school- worked in the business/financial office for both)

Low pay- check. I mean im not getting paid way below avg for my job but its def low end of average. and I can forget about a raise ever. Also I replaced a male who worked in my position... and get paid less then him and was told upfront its cause im a woman.

I do not think that I am treated badly otherwise. In both my non profit jobs I was treated decently.

A benefit I like is yomim tovim are off inc c"h, and we end early erev shabbos, no hassle. I found both my bosses to be very understanding.

chocolate moose

Post Fri, Jan 23 2015, 3:36 pm
I have worked for several jewish non profits. I was never off chol hamoed and we were not always off erev yomtov - if we were off, it wasn't always paid.

pay was low. wasn't treated great either. I think they did the best they could - it was brooklyn non profit afte5r all. can't expect much