Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Chinuch, Education & Schooling
What do I give my dd after her chumash play?
1  2  Next

amother

Post Mon, Feb 09 2015, 9:24 pm
My dd is having her chumash play this week. She told me that she can't wait to see the present I will give her after her play. Being that she is my first dd getting a chumash I have no experience with this. It seems (according to dd) that mothers bring gifts to the play. What kind of gift is appropriate?

greenfire

Post Mon, Feb 09 2015, 9:31 pm
I always thought the chumash was the gift ...

have you asked other parents of classmates ?

Chayalle

Post Mon, Feb 09 2015, 9:41 pm
It depends on what your child is like. The idea is that you want your child to be excited and remember this positively. Sort of like the little boys lick honey when they get their upsherin because Torah is sweet.

My older DD was more brainy and mature, so I bought her some books at my Judaica store. But my little one much prefers toys, so that is what she got.

I never took a gift to school, as that is NOT the norm where I live. Check if that's the done thing in your area. I prefer to give gifts at home for many reasons - not promoting jealousy being foremost.

yidishmamma

Post Mon, Feb 09 2015, 11:09 pm
My daughter is having her siddur play tomorrow and got a note not to bring gift to school . I will listen but not sure what other parents will do

Ruchel

Post Tue, Feb 10 2015, 10:26 am
Never heard of giving anything

SRS

Post Tue, Feb 10 2015, 10:57 am