Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Household Management -> Finances
"Mommy camp" vs. day camp?

amother

Post Tue, Feb 17 2015, 9:33 am
For the last few summers I worked in a day camp to earn a bit of money over the summer (I work in a school) and keep my kids busy and entertained. I'm not great at being a full-time SAHM, so I liked the idea of giving us all some structure and exciting activities.

Last year I earned around $900 for 8 weeks (on top of my kids' tuition), which is decent for summer camp pay but not a lot in the greater scheme of things. It was also a pretty draining experience, because my job involved a lot of planning and physical activity, a fair amount of general frustration, and a 30-ish minute drive each way. My kids were happy, but I wasn't really. And after talking to a friend who has been in the same boat for the last couple of years. we're both thinking about trying to do things on our own this year.

I'd probably take the kids to visit my parents for a week, and would probably split an inexpensive vacation rental with this friend for a week as well. My neighbor does a backyard camp so I could have my kids do that for a week or so, and it would cost a lot less than a more formal setup. If things are broken up like that and I plan ahead, I think I could keep us from watching too many videos, you know? I think.

But, does it make sense financially? Would you put yourself through a hard summer for $900 and knowing your kids are busy and entertained? If you've done "mommy camp" how much money do you think you spent on activities and so on? Was that easier or harder than working for you? How did you make the decision to do whichever thing you did?

mommy3b2c

Post Tue, Feb 17 2015, 10:14 am