Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Inquiries & Offers -> Israel related Inquiries & Aliyah Questions
Concerned of the language
1  2  Next

amother

Post Sun, Mar 15 2015, 2:25 am
I am dying to make Aliyah and one of the biggest things holding me back is living in a country that isn't my mothers tongue. I don't know Hebrew that well and hate the idea of not being able to communicate well. I don't want to move and just stick with anglos as thats not really living there it's more like being on vacation. I want to be part of it and feel like I will be an outsider. Another issue is I don't want my kids to be held back because of this they are young oldest is 5 but still I work in a school here and see how foreign kids areally struggle and wouldn't want to put my kids though it.
Any Chizzuk or ideas?

grace413

Post Sun, Mar 15 2015, 2:39 am
It is a bit intimidating to live life in another language, but it's worth it to live in Israel.

You already have some Hebrew and you can build on that. Re your kids, the sooner you come, the easier it will be for them. They are young enough that it shouldn't be too difficult. I don't think most kids that come at that age struggled in school - mine didn't.

Do what you can to improve your Hebrew before you come.

Even if you live in an Anglo area you will have plenty of need and opportunity to speak Hebrew - with your kids school, the bank, the post office, the supermarket, etc.

Hatzlacha.

amother

Post Sun, Mar 15 2015, 2:54 am