Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
How to interpret this gesture?
1  2  Next

amother
Cerulean

Post Tue, Mar 31 2015, 11:54 am
I'm an intern in a mental health clinic I've been here almost 2 years. Most of my fellow interns are young grad students and I'm almost 30. A few interns are also here for a 2nd year. One ofthem is a charismatic Hispanic guy who is friendly and always greets me and asks me how I'm doing. He knows I'm married, Jewish and that I just had a baby. I dress business casual so its always tznius and appropriate. Any way the other day I was in my supervisors office waiting to ask a question and this guy came by on my left side and kind of reached over to my right shoulder and kind of tickle-pinched it. Is this normal or was that trying to be flirtatious?

amother
Chartreuse

Post Tue, Mar 31 2015, 12:35 pm
I'm a BT so I've had experience with non-Jewish friends who are guys... I wouldn't read into this too much. Sounds like he's just trying to be friendly.

That said, just make sure you keep your boundaries (as I'm sure you already do)!

MagentaYenta

Post Tue, Mar 31 2015, 12:49 pm
It's certainly not professional or appropriate in the workplace, regardless of anyones religion.

greenfire

Post Tue, Mar 31 2015, 12:49 pm
nobody could possibly interpret what we weren't there to see/feel/hear for ourselves ...

and wonder if it would have been a different thought process if the hispanic guy were say jewish ... would you know if he were flirtatious

amother
Chartreuse

Post Tue, Mar 31 2015, 12:51 pm
greenfire wrote:
nobody could possibly interpret what we weren't there to see/feel/hear for ourselves ...

and wonder if it would have been a different thought process if the hispanic guy were say jewish ... would you know if he were flirtatious