Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women -> Teachers' Room
I'm not going to finish the curriculum...#updated
1  2  Next

amother
Amber

Post Mon, Apr 20 2015, 4:18 am
I am freaking out.

I am a first year teacher and I'm not going to finish the math curriculum before state standardized testing next month.

I feel like I've done such a disservice to my students and while I never would apologize outright to them, I feel like I've truly betrayed them.

I'm talking middle school level math, stuff that they should know and will actually use for the rest of their lives. A good third of my class came in this year still counting on their fingers and being allowed a multiplication chart to refer to on tests. But the rest of the class? I could have actually covered ground with them, and I'm so disappointed in myself. I don't want to look next year's teacher in the eye and tell her the students are still having trouble with rounding.

I let my students down in science too... my school has no curriculum or textbook and I had to make it up as I went, and the students fought me tooth and nail because they felt everything was "too hard to comprehend" (ah, only when they kvetch do they bring out the vocabulary words...).

I'm just so bummed right now. The fire's gone out.

Iymnok

Post Mon, Apr 20 2015, 4:25 am
Wow, you sound like you built a mountain from nothing! It's super hard with such ranges in one class. Your first year and you had to make the curriculum yourself?!
Can you find a way to make every student thrive next year? Make two tracks for math...
Did the teacher from last year prepare last years class adequately?

imasoftov

Post Mon, Apr 20 2015, 4:40 am
amother wrote:
I ... I never would apologize outright to them ...

I had teachers like this too.

amother
Cyan

Post Mon, Apr 20 2015, 4:51 am
Sounds like you're too hard on yourself.