Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Do you keep your personal life completely private at work?

amother
Indigo

Post Wed, Apr 22 2015, 2:40 pm
I am wondering how common it is for people to keep their personal lives completely private, to the extent that their co-workers don't know if they are married, have kids...

The reason I'm wondering is because I've been working for 3 years in an office. I share an office with my supervisor, who is a Russian middle aged woman. I bring my son with me, and I have mentioned my other kids on occasion. I bring all my kids there on Purim to give her Mishloach Manos. She knows plenty about my family. Yet she has never mentioned a single thing about her life. I began to assume she had never been married, since she never mentioned a husband or children. I never even knew her last name until her mother died. Nobody from work was able to pay a shiva call because nobody knew her phone number or her mother's name or address- even though she's been working there for 30 years.

Today, someone asked her how her daughter is and she answered, "Which one? I have 2 daughters." It turns out they are both adults already.

I am shocked. It just seems so weird to me to have never mentioned a family. Is that really unusual?

amother
Copper

Post Wed, Apr 22 2015, 2:56 pm
I think it's pretty weird and that she never mentioned this . On the other hand , maybe it didn't come out in the discussion to talk about it . Or maybe she doesn't feel like sharing this , wich is odd . I work in a big company and everyone talks about their families

sequoia

Post Wed, Apr 22 2015, 3:12 pm
Yeah, sounds about right. [Some] Russians are like this.

amother
Indigo

Post Wed, Apr 22 2015, 9:49 pm
sequoia wrote:
Yeah, sounds about right. [Some] Russians are like this.
I had a feeling it may have something to do with the fact that she's Russian.