Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Household Management -> Finances
So worried

amother
Plum

Post Fri, Apr 24 2015, 9:11 am
DH and I are relatively newly married, no kids. Before our marriage I had never owned a credit card. I made all my transactions on a debit card and was able to always stay on top of my finances. When we got engaged DH suggested we open a credit card for points and for some leeway in case of emergency. I agreed, although I was very hesitant. Fast forward close to a year, were in almost $4,000 worth of debt. I have tried numerous times to make a budget and keep track but somehow were just not keeping up.
I think there are 2 main problems:
1. We're not bringing in enough money to covert our expenses. I'm a full time student and work as many hours as I can on the side. I have a decently good paying job but I can't put in as many hours as I want because of college. DH only works 3 days a week and his job is not well paying at all. He has tried to add on hours at work but he can't. He's also been looking for other jobs but so far nothing. Right now I'm in school full time and also working over 30 hours a week and I'm running myself ragged. It's also make me resent DH a little, even though I know that's not fair to him.
2. DH does not know how to budget!! He was raised in a very chaotic and poor home and money was always a huge stress and burden. He has no idea how to be responsible about money and every time I try to talk to him about it (nicely and respectfully) he gets very hurt because somehow he thinks I'm "yelling" at him like he's used to his parents doing. He'll rack up charges from silly things & it's so frustrating to watch our money fly out the window.

Does anyone have any advice?

saw50st8

Post Fri, Apr 24 2015, 9:28 am
Read Dave Ramsey's method.

Credit card points are great - if you are only buying what you can afford and pay the bill in full each time.