Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Household Management -> Organizing
Help me sort my wardrobe

amother
Vermilion

Post Wed, May 06 2015, 2:28 pm
I have been collecting clothing for over 15 years. I don't have so much but my closet is very small and I have no where else to put my clothing, so I need to get rid of some things. The problem is last time I moved, I got rid of things I miss now.

So I have:
-things that have been too small for a long time but that look really nice and are in good condition;
-things I bought because the sales lady was very pushy but that never fitted me, that were generally either too small or too short, and that I barely or never wore, so in very good condition;
-things I wore over and over again, that are completely worn out but I still wear, even if they are on the tight side now because I recently gained more weight;
-hand-me-downs I never liked because they're not my style but I would occasionally wear for a change;
-things that I will likely never wear again, like an evening gown, but are maybe useful to have.

I am not fashion oriented, meaning most of my clothing is outdated, and I have a very limited budget for clothing. WWYD?

zaq

Post Wed, May 06 2015, 6:06 pm
amother wrote:

-things that have been too small for a long time but that look really nice and are in good condition;

Give away to a gmach and make someone less fortunate very happy. The clothes are not fulfilling their earthly tafkid hanging in the dark in your closet. They want to go out in the world! If they are only a little bit too small, consult a tailor to see if they can be altered to fit, but be aware that tailoring doesn't come cheap. You may be better off buying new. By which I mean new for you, as in thrift shop, not necessarily new from macy's.