Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Is it ok to ignore this email?
1  2  Next

amother
Denim

Post Mon, May 11 2015, 8:07 am
I am a university student, and as part of my course I have this portfolio thing that is part of my assessment.
I went to see a member of staff about it who told me that I needed to make a slight amendment to it, and she wanted me to go back to her once I had done that. She is really friendly and nice.
I sent her an email to say I have completed what she wanted me to do, when would be convenient to drop it to her. She replied saying she is away at the moment, and could she please ask me to show it to this other lady in her absence. She copied this other lady into the email.
This other lady can be very nasty and I feel very uncomfortable with her, as I once went to see her and she made me cry.
I have not emailed this lady at all, because I'd prefer to just leave it. I'm thinking that she is so busy, she barely has any time to look at this anyway, and would have forgotten all about this email by now (it was a week ago). She probably really doesn't want to see me anyway. And it is really not of much significance.

OOTforlife

Post Mon, May 11 2015, 8:27 am
I don't recommend ignoring it. You risk looking like a flake in front of both staff members. I think you should resolve the issue one way or another.

oliveoil

Post Mon, May 11 2015, 8:54 am
OP - It sounds (from this post and many previous ones) like you desperately need a real-life mentor to guide you through the school/work/socializing process. I highly advise you seek one out--paid if necessary.

studying_torah

Post Mon, May 11 2015, 9:29 am
No it's not ok. You asked for help and now you need to follow up, even though it's not with your preferred person. Otherwise, why should anyone want to help you in the future.