Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Did you ever talk with a career advisor???

amother
Khaki

Post Tue, May 19 2015, 1:53 pm
So many people give advice to talk to a career advisor… have you ever done it?

I’m at a really bad place in my career. I’m a CPA, but professionally boxed into a niche that I don’t like and in a job I hate. I seriously hate my job, it causes me so much grief and I dread coming into work each day. I’ve tried to make some changes, to work with different managers, but this is a company culture and I haven’t seen any improvement. What I don’t like- super stressful, cutthroat, try to pass blame whenever things go wrong, things like that. And I know not all places are like this because I’ve worked at other jobs before I came here and none of those were like this.

My big problem is that this specific type of accounting is really limited and I wouldn’t be able to find an equivalent job in this field. I’m totally ready to move on, but since I only have experience in this particular area, I would need to go back to a beginner’s level to do any other type of accounting work. Besides the fact that that would mean a huge cut in salary, my experience itself would be a liability in me getting a new job, because who hires someone with 5 years of experience for a starting job?

This is so depressing  I’ve put so many years into my degree and my work and the only out I see now is to quit my job and stay home with the kids, which of course I can’t afford.

So back to my original question- have you ever spoken with a career advisor? Were they helpful or a waste of money? Most important, how do I find someone who’s good and has experience in my field? I’ve been talking with some recruiters and most of them never even heard of the work I do. I need some serious help…

amother
Khaki

Post Tue, May 19 2015, 4:42 pm
Bump... All answers appreciated...

Ruchel