Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Work in small office with male boss

amother
Brown

Post Wed, May 20 2015, 11:05 am
I don't want to make this too detailed-but basically I am an office manager of a company-and work full time. Most of the hours of the day I sit in a small office with my male boss. He is a very frum really really nice guy. Like a HUGE mentch. For some hours another girl is here with me-so then it is us two and him. He is very not boss type-like doesn't make demands etc, and he has a lot of appreciation for the work I do (as I really manage the whole business). I am a very outgoing, sociable person and I like to talk-so we would schmooze a lot of the day-about work and about personal.

A while ago I realized that it's getting out of hand-(at that point we were texting also-really only about business)-and I said something to him. It was super awkward-but he understood what I was saying-and we stopped texting-and the atmosphere in the office was really uncomfortable for a few days. But then I couldn't' handle it so I basically ruined it and talked through the whole issue with him-and we continued to schmooze in the office. (the texting stopped).

Last week I realized that its getting REALLY out of hand again-so I told him that we need a 2nd office for men or I'm going to have to leave (I said it a lot nicer-but he got the point). He is trying to work that out-(its a lot more complicated [has to talk to others]-especially because he doesn't want anyone to think it was worse than it really was) But anyway now he is trying not to come in-and when he does come in-he feels SOOOO uncomfortable-that I end up saying stupid stuff b/c I feel SO bad. I'm really nervous I'm going to mess up like I already did-and say too much and then its going to go right back. Anyone have any advice?

vicki

Post Wed, May 20 2015, 11:27 am