Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Parenting our children -> School age children
How do people in NYC keep kids home in the summer?
1  2  3  4  5  Next

amother
Lilac

Post Fri, Jun 26 2015, 10:44 am
camp is a fortune. I am well aware. It is also a luxury.
This year I made the decision to keep my kids (4 of them-ages 8,6,4 and 2) home, and have day activities, I'm a teacher, so I'm off..I'll save a couple thousand dollars, it will be great! and my dh was on board, (even though he is never home)

Fast forward to the summer, its been ONLY one week, (where real camp didn't even start) and we are all going bonkers. I really prepared, I did. I made us schedules, I made charts, and routines, and activity lists, I found coupons to go to great places, I had everything set up all to go.
but I am honestly falling apart. My apartment looks like a war zone,I haven't done any laundry yet, I haven't cooked a meal all week, forget about shabbos....my kids are non-stop fighting (which I dont usually struggle w that much, like my 6 year old is fighting with my 2 year old )
I spent SO much money already on these activities, I spent a TON on projects, so much on random ice cream trips, slurpees, and what not.... and instead of being excited (Which they initially were) my kids are being extremely kvetchy, going to sleep late, waking up early, and just everyone is in a bad mood.

so, to my op, how do people in NYC (without big back yards, and community pools and wtvr) keep their kids home in the summer?

bnm

Post Fri, Jun 26 2015, 10:52 am
not everyone is cut out for it. My kids didn't even manage 3 vacation days without asking to go back to school. One kid is off for 10 days between school and camp. I have a cleaning lady twice a week, supper has been chicken nuggets and frozen pizza and I'm counting the days till day camp starts....

PinkFridge

Post Fri, Jun 26 2015, 11:05 am
Big hugs.