Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Help me talk to my boss

amother
Linen

Post Mon, Jul 20 2015, 9:18 pm
I've been working at my job for about 2 years--officially part time but in reality it's just under full time which means I'm paid hourly but have no holiday, vacation time or other benefits.
I work really hard and I'm seen as competent so I'm often called on to help other departments and get things done. My manager thinks highly of me and has been advocating for me to get a raise and promotion for a year. My boss keeps pushing it off and last told my manager that there is a salary freeze. My manager then went out of her way to use a grant (it's a non profit) as a way to increase my salary and hours.
The thing is that I'm in my third trimester of a difficult pregnancy and I find myself resentful that I work so hard for so little (I have a professional degree but a relatively low salary). I just told my manager that I need to cut back on hours and responsibilities and when she conveyed that to my boss, he asked if I was okay and said he noticed that I've seemed agitated lately which is probably true.
Tomorrow I'd like to speak to my boss directly, advocate for the work I've been doing and ask about maternity leave (he already knows I'm pg).
Should I adress the agitated comment? Can I say how hard it is for me when I know that almost everyone else is salaried besides me?
Please advise.

amother
Linen

Post Mon, Jul 20 2015, 10:05 pm
Bump Smile

Leahh

Post Mon, Jul 20 2015, 10:58 pm
Don't bring up the agitated comment unless he says it. Then you can address how difficult your workload is and you don't feel youre being compensated accordingly.
also, do NOT mention anyone else in the conversation. Don't say everyone else is salaried and I'm hourly.... that's babyish and will cheapen you in your boss's eyes.