Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Recipe Collection -> Healthy Cooking
Vegen life style

amother
Floralwhite

Post Wed, Jul 22 2015, 4:07 am
I recently began a vegen life style. As I am really new at this I am interested in hearing how you can adjust this to a Jewish lifestyle. Particularly Shabbos and yom tov. We have alot of guests and I rally don't feel like making double dishes. Any ideas for recipes? Or tips for this life style?

FranticFrummie

Post Wed, Jul 22 2015, 4:58 am
Start researching vegan blogs. Pinterest has a ton of great recipes under the keyword "vegan". I'm not vegan, but I use a lot of the recipes if I want something parve, or if I'm avoiding a certain allergen.

Most importantly, watch your weight. If it falls too low too fast, or if you start feeling really light headed, veganism might not agree with your body.

I tried it for a year and a half, and at 5'7", I dropped down to 104 pounds, and couldn't gain an ounce, no matter how many healthy fats and carbs I ate. I was dizzy all the time, and couldn't concentrate. Once I started eating eggs and dairy again, I felt much better.

Raisin

Post Wed, Jul 22 2015, 5:01 am
make one meat dish eg chicken and then all the soups, dips, salads and sides can be vegan. Vegan desserts are tricky, so you might find it easier to make two types, or just eat fruit.

water_bear88

Post Wed, Jul 22 2015, 5:25 am
I agree with Raisin about meal-planning. I would add that there are some good vegan desserts that aren't too difficult- sorbets or ices are nice in the summer. Pies and shortbread cookies can easily be made vegan as well.

Raisin

Post Wed, Jul 22 2015, 5:44 am
true, there are some good vegan dessert recipes, but not a ton. Apple crumble is vegan, mousse made with silken tofu. You can try egg free cakes and bars.

You could make big batches and freeze.

bluebird

Post Wed, Jul 22 2015, 1:27 pm