Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Relationships -> Manners & Etiquette
WWYD: Changing someones work

amother
Taupe

Post Tue, Aug 11 2015, 10:27 am
I was asked to make a flyer for an upcoming event at our shul. It was a chessed, at no charge, since I am a graphic designer by degree but currently not by proffesion. I personally took care of putting the flyer up in certain places, and emailed out the flyer to be put out on the local list serve. A third party (member of the shul) who has access to the list serve took my flyer, changed around the wording and some of the graphics and resent it out to the entire list. It was entirely his doing, nobody asked him to. He has done similar things like this in the past.

What would you do?

PAMOM

Post Tue, Aug 11 2015, 10:32 am
I wouldn't agree to help in the future. Let that person start from scratch. If you're too angry to let it drop (and I'd be), I'd email the petfon who changed your work and say that you're unhappy that he changed your work without consulting you and that since he's obviouldy able to produce what he needs, you're suggesting him as the contact person in the furure.

amother
Taupe

Post Tue, Aug 11 2015, 11:36 am
PAMOM wrote:
I wouldn't agree to help in the future. Let that person start from scratch. If you're too angry to let it drop (and I'd be), I'd email the petfon who changed your work and say that you're unhappy that he changed your work without consulting you and that since he's obviouldy able to produce what he needs, you're suggesting him as the contact person in the furure.

The shul didn't ask the person to do anything, so the shul is being penalized for this persons actions if I tell them I won't help anymore. I do like your suggestion of writing to him, though he is not a designer at all so wonder how he will take it.

I am really upset by it, and trying not to do/say anything I shouldn't (know the feeling?)

kb